News or Not

Today there was a tragic accident on a major bridge in Pittsburgh.  The news reported it and showed any photos they could film.  There was a loss of a life, to them it’s a news story.  I hate these stories, well, the filming and showing the mangled cars and carnage.

When Betsy had her accident, I had talked to her about one hour prior.  She said she was tired and I advised her to pull over to rest.  But I probably wouldn’t have done that either.  In any case, when I arrived home from work she wasn’t home.  I was perplexed because she should have been home.  I also knew she had some belongings of a close friend in her car and thought maybe she went to his house to drop them off.  So, while I waited to see her, I logged on to the computer and the news.  Something I used to do.  First thing I saw was a story about an accident in Derry township where a 21 year old woman had died.  My heart pounded as I saw photos of the car..I knew it was Betsy’s car.  I was frantic.  I can’t recall how many phone calls I made before the police pulled up to my house.  My whole world collapsed that day, but I already knew, because I saw the wreckage.

I can understand reporting an accident, but showing pictures and film of the accident site is horrid.  Family’s of victims are not notified immediately.  The responders are trying to save a life, that is not a priority then.  It is in the aftermath that the family is located and notified.  I was robbed of the choice to see that car and was alone at the time I realized the most important person in my life had died.

It’s made me so angry and sad to see this practice continue and grow bigger and bigger.  The reports go on and on and on..

So is this really news?  Is the shock necessary?  I think compassion is more important than the shock value.  We are so used to seeing shocking reports that don’t really affect us.  It’s sick.

My goal, at this point is to find a way to bring the issue to light.  It’s wrong to unnecessarily horrify parents, siblings, and friends with those photos.

Love you forever Betsy ❤ ❤ ❤

Leave a comment